Oats For The Win

Today is another quick easy breakfast item! Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and sometimes standing around in the morning when you are already running late, trying to cook something healthy for breakfast can make your morning a little Overwhelming. When I started counting macros you better believe that I also started doing some research on simple/healthy breakfast meals that gave me what I needed in the morning to help jumpstart my day.

Last week I made chocolate, peanut butter, banana over night oats. They don’t look like anything special but trust me, they are DELICIOUS!

over-night-oats

The recipe is so simple. You literally dump all of the ingredients in a bowl and mix it together and then let it sit in the fridge over night and pull it out in the morning and it is ready to eat. (you can also heat it up if you like, but I like mine cold.)

1/4 cup of unsweetened or sweetened Almond milk

1/2 cup of plain instant oats

1/2 of a banana ( you may want to mash it up first and then add the other stuff)

1/2 scoop of  Gold Standard Whey chocolate protein powder

1 teaspoon of honey (if you want to)

Mix it all together throw a little dab of peanut butter on the top and cut a few extra slices of banana and BOOM. Thats literally it. Well, I did add some cinnamon and nutmeg to it.

This will give you one serving and in that serving you get about 20g of protein, 4g of fat and 28g of carbs!  It is perfect for a pre workout meal and if you don’t eat it all before your morning resistance training, eat the rest right after!

If there is one thing that I am learning on this journey it is that carbs ARE my friend and they are what help me make it through an hour long hard weight training session. More next Friday!

2 thoughts on “Oats For The Win

  1. Margarita says:

    My variation, not as healthy as your recipe, and, oh so yummy to me! Sprinkle a couple of tablespoons of mini chocolate chips into oatmeal and water, microwave for the appropriate time, stir in some peanut butter and voila! Delicious hot breakfast! 😉 xoM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

