Stay Connected..Do more

Connected. Up to date. Knowledgeable. These are somethings that my generation SEEMS to be good at but in reality we are just up to date on the things that the media wants us to read.

The definition of connect is bringing together or into contact so that a real or notional link is established.

A recent personal downfall of mine is staying connected. Connected with the outside world and news that is going on around the world. It is so easy for my generation to just scroll through our Facebook timeline or twitter feed and only read about the stories that are fed to us. The top stories that are boosted to the top of our timelines. Or only seeing ads that companies pay for us to see.

It is so easy just to listen to the news, feel bad about a tragedy and just move on with your day. One of my strengths which can also act as a weakness is empathy. In the past, when a tragedy would happen I wouldn’t just feel bad for a short time for the people affected  but it actually bothered me and I would think of ways that I can help. As I started to get older I began to get too busy to stop and say a prayer for those who are hurting and I just began to write it off as news.

At the end of my senior year in college I was sending out some mail when a friend of mine told me a way that I could get involved in encouraging prisoners that are being persecuted for sharing the word of God overseas. Not only that but I began to start taking time to read about ways you can get involved in providing support after a national crisis in any way possible.

It may just be me, but I have always wanted to do more when a crisis happens. If I could drop everything each time something happens and just drive down and help encourage people then I would! Here are a few things you can do to help get involved when it comes to a national crisis such as Orlando or the Joplin tornado. This could be anything from monetary aid to physical help.

  • Volunteer at organizations like Convoy of Hope who provide food and other types of relief around the world and nationally
  • Look for Go Fund Me accounts that are directly related to the crisis you want to help
  • Be on the look out for the red cross and if they are in need of blood. or you can look into your local community like the Community Blood Center of the Ozarks.
  • Check out this list of other organizations that you can get involved in to help provide relief. Relief Aid List.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

